Romanticizing Life


Casual Conversations

I spend so much of each day

Listening to the narrator in my head

Chatting with a two year old

Arguing with myself

Speaking to others with only my fingertips

I’m not even sure I know how to hold a “normal” conversation at this point

I want to talk about the sun’s energy and how immaculate it is, how it’s considered a star and how we’d all die if we were a foot closer

I want to discuss aliens and cults and mermaids and all the urban legends

I want to talk about the WHY behind serial killers’ motives and how we can help them before someone gets hurt?

Let’s chat about Dali and Van Gogh and how an artist’s brain can be so twisted, yet so beautiful and brillant

Let’s talk about the counterculture of the 1960s, the Black Panthers and battles that are still faced in today’s society

I want to know if you think a woman’s rights should belong to her and her choices about her body are hers and hers alone

What about our oceans? What do you think could lurk down there since we’ve only explored FIVE freaking percent of them

Let’s talk about how bees literally keep our society alive, yet no one looks out for them and often demonize them

Let’s discuss organized religions and how powerful and manipulative they can be. Who do you think is right, and why are there so many?

I don’t want to talk about the weather or that celebrity or about another episode of Bluey

My idol mind can be dangerous, and it’s feeds on deeper exploration

Maybe I’m just not talking to the right people

Or maybe I’ve just lost touch with societal norms

Oh, well

I’ll just continue to question everything and have these discussions with myself


Leave a comment