Romanticizing Life


My Beautiful Boy

Today… I struggled, but I survived

Once the pressure of the work day subsided

And I could be completely present with you

My cup overflowed with fulfillment

Your laughter and tiny voice

The way you needed a tight hug as much as I did today

Maybe you could sense my sadness

Even through my mask and silly faces

I hope not, but I feel that you did

And I apologize for that

I’ll try harder tomorrow

Because I can’t imagine never holding you again

Or missing all your big moments

Dance parties and pool days

Sharing string cheeses and nature walks

Reading time and seeing you learn

Hearing you sing and watching you run so freely

Free of anxieties

Free of fear

Free of sadness

And I know I’m not perfect

And I’m broken and a bit of hot mess

But goddamn it, I love you

And I’ll swallow the pain as much as I need

I’ll make sure your shine never dulls

And that you can keep the wonder alive

I’ll always dance with you in the rain

And I’ll listen intently when you express those big feelings

I hope you never need to find yourself in adulthood

Because you’ve always been free to be

That’s the least I can give you

Because I don’t think you’ll ever understand how much

You’ve really saved me.


Leave a comment